top of page
  • Writer's pictureStacy Oler

Schooling during Covid

Updated: Sep 13, 2020

To parents who may find this useful –


As someone who once did the research, lined-up a support system, and made the conscious choice to school my children at home, I want to say…


This is not easy work. It may be a rocky start. The first few weeks and months can be really hard. The adjustments can be brutal. If it is, I want to offer you all of my hard-earned empathy. I’ve been there. I’ve cried those tears. I’ve experienced toe curling frustration. I’ve felt completely inadequate. Some days I’ve been emotionally depleted-drained-dead. You are not alone.


Some parents may pick this up naturally…most of you will not. Don’t let those precious FB posts of the "perfect Distance Learning day" discourage you. Chances are, most days will feel like a gong-show (one of which you did not sign up for). You are not alone.

I have learned as a home-schooling parent, the first lessons of Distance Learning are Compassion, Kindness, and Forgiveness … for yourself.

I’m not sure I ever really understood the importance of self-care until I started Distance Learning. It is essential. And I’m not talking about hot bubble baths, deep breathing practices or long walks (although those are VERY important). I’m talking about being mindful of the conversations you will be having with yourself for the duration…take care of how you treat yourself.

Be compassionate and kind to yourself. Forgive yourself for the mistakes you will make – you will make them, I promise. You can’t do this 100% right but you can’t do this 100% wrong either.

Reach out to your teachers. Reach out to other parents. Let yourself be vulnerable because, well, you are. And that’s understandable, normal and part of the journey. If anything, this pandemic gives us the opportunity to build relationships – with your teachers, other parents and especially with our children.

In the coming days, weeks, maybe months, we stand on the precipice of learning probably the greatest lessons of all. You are not alone because we are in this together. Many blessings 💜💜💜.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page